[SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Here we discuss common issues of the Psi+ Project

Moderators: diSabler, zet

[SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby matse » 16 Jun 2011, 00:25

Hi,
I've a problem regarding the password caching of psi+ on windows. Here on linux I have to enter my gpg passphrase just one time, when I log into my jabber account. On another windows PC psi+ asks for the password very often (for about 4 times in an hour). Can you manually adjust the caching duration of the password or can you change this behaviour directly in psi+?
Thanks for your assistance,
matse
Last edited by matse on 16 Jun 2011, 19:09, edited 1 time in total.
matse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 23:36

Re: psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Shura » 16 Jun 2011, 11:08

I have the same issue on Linux Ubuntu.
Shura
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 11:03

Re: psi+: gpg password caching

Postby KukuRuzo » 16 Jun 2011, 12:13

If you are using gpg4win on your Windows PC, it replaces the built-in psi+ dialog for entering the password on the pinentry.exe so psi+ can't remember your password.
Try to use gnupg to work with GPG-Keys
User avatar
KukuRuzo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 May 2011, 15:39
Location: Киев

Re: psi+: gpg password caching

Postby matse » 16 Jun 2011, 13:37

Hi,
yes on this machine is gpg4win and I've found out, that you can change the passphrase caching duration manually by creating a "gpg-agent.conf" file in "c:\Documents and Settings\*username*\appdata\gnupg\". There you can change with the line
default-cache-ttl 10800

the caching duration (in seconds, here three hours). After that you have to kill "gpg-agent" in the task manager so that it is reloaded automatically when you enter your passphrase next time and then the new setting is automatically used. Tried it here on a virtual machine with Win XP and it worked.
matse

//Edit: @KukuRuzo: OK I would try gnupg, but I didn't find precompiled binaries for windows, can you tell me where I can get precompiled gpg2 binaries (yes I unfortunatelx need version 2)
matse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 23:36

Re: psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Freddy » 16 Jun 2011, 15:02

you can use gpg4win but only install the core program without key manager and so on. I use enigmail in Thunderbird as key manager.


Freddy
Freddy
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13 Jun 2011, 10:06
Location: Germany

Re: psi+: gpg password caching

Postby matse » 16 Jun 2011, 17:30

Yes on the specific machine there is only core gnupg from gpg4win installed, as key manager there is GPGshell (http://www.jumaros.de/rsoft/index.html) in use, but nevertheless the gpg-agent is installed with core gnupg. But the workaround posted above with the gpg-agent.conf file works fine, of course it would even be better if the psi built in caching system as under linux would be used.
matse

//Edit: OK, I've now tested pure gpg 1.4.11 from http://mirrors.dotsrc.org/gnupg/binary/ which works perfectly with the psi+ caching system. And so far it is compatible with the gpg2 keys I use so far (I thought I have read something about incompatibilities). So uninstalling gpg4win, installing gpg 1.4.11 from the link above and adding "c:\programs\gnu\gnupg" to your path in windows results in the same behaviour of psi+ as under linux - exactly what I wanted. Thanks for the help here to everybody, especially KukuRuzo for this hint.
matse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 23:36

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Shura » 18 Jun 2011, 09:03

OK, what about me? I have the same issue on Linux, gnupg is installed, psi+ displays in diagnostic window:
Checking Qt static plugins:
PsiFilePlugin: does not offer QCAPlugin interface
MPRISPlugin: does not offer QCAPlugin interface
Checking Qt Library Path: /home/shura/.local/share/Psi+
(No 'crypto' subdirectory)
Checking Qt Library Path: /usr/share/psi-plus
(No 'crypto' subdirectory)
Checking Qt Library Path: /usr/lib/qt4/plugins
libqca-gnupg.so: (class: gnupgPlugin) loaded as qca-gnupg
libqca-ossl.so: (class: opensslPlugin) loaded as qca-ossl
Checking Qt Library Path: /usr/bin
(No 'crypto' subdirectory)
Checking Qt Library Path: /usr/lib/kde4/plugins
(No 'crypto' subdirectory)
Shura
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 11:03

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby matse » 18 Jun 2011, 14:55

Hmm do you have gpg1 and gpg2 installed?
Here I have both installed and it works fine, and what's the output of "which gpg"?
matse
matse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 23:36

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Shura » 18 Jun 2011, 23:16

Code: Select all
$ which gpg
/usr/bin/gpg
Shura
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 11:03

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby matse » 19 Jun 2011, 00:43

OK it seems that you've installed gpg1, I just took a look at the ubuntu repository and found this package
http://packages.ubuntu.com/natty/gnupg-agent
I guess that's the program that caches your password, if you don't need it, remove it, otherwise try to change the caching duration in the config file, I guess the man-page will give you more detailed information about this.
matse
matse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 23:36

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Shura » 20 Jun 2011, 11:15

thank you, I'll try.
Shura
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 11:03

Re: [SOLVED] psi+: gpg password caching

Postby Andreas » 08 Dec 2012, 06:22

in Win7 (32 or 64 bit) you must place the gpg-agent.conf file in

C:\Users\"user"\AppData\Roaming\gnupg

Best Regards Andreas :)
Andreas
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Nov 2012, 19:38
Location: Germany, Bavaria, town: Schongau (near Munic)


Return to General forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron